To honor Dr. Cinnamon's long-term dedication to our group, the ISO has established the "Dr. Howard Cinnamon Scholarship Fund" in which an annual monetary scholarship will be awarded to a deserving music student in our local community.  The fund's first award will be granted in 2018; details on how to qualify will appear on our website shortly.      


Lisa Brieff
President and Grantwriter

Donna Geiger

Vice-President and Marketing Liaison

Darlene Abbate-Struss
Recording Secretary

Edward Kurpis
Treasurer and Webmaster


Nancy Maia
Symphony Librarian and Archivist

Dawn Martin

Concert Coordinator

Allan Sperber
Personnel Manger

Rhoda Needlman

Corresponding Secretary

Paul Little

Board Member - Music Committee

Martha Rabin

Board Member

Monroe Semble

Board Member

Mark Flanzraich

Board Member


Howard Cinnamon

Music Director Emeritus

The 2017-18 ISO 

Board of Directors

Dr. Cinnamon has presented papers on the music of Brahms, Liszt, Schoenberg, Stravinsky and Tchaikovsky at numerous scholarly conferences, and has published papers on Liszt, Schoenberg, Bach, and Chopin in Music Theory Spectrum, Theory and Practice, In Theory Only, Indiana Theory Review, Intégral and Gamut. 

He was a member of the Executive Board of the Music Theory Society of New York State (2008 - 2013) and previously served as its Treasurer (1991-95). He is currently Professor and Coordinator of Music Theory/Composition at Hofstra University and was Chair of its Department of Music from 2001-2010


After 25 years, Dr. Howard Cinnamon, who has faithfully served as Music Director and Conductor, announced his retirement from the Island Symphony Orchestra, effective September 1, 2017.

A distinguished music theorist and conductor, Dr. Cinnamon received his B.A. from The City College, CUNY, his M.A. from Queens College, CUNY, and his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.  He has served as Music Director of the Long Beach (LI) Symphony and the Bay Area (BAFFA) Symphony, as Interim Director of the Hofstra University Orchestra and as Conductor of the Hofstra Summer Reading Orchestra.  He has also appeared regularly as Guest Conductor of the Massapequa Philharmonic.

The Musicians of the 

2017 Orchestra Roster

*Martha Rabin
Carol Sparrow
Allan Sperber

Allan Sperber

Lois Barton

*Mark Flanzraich
Judith Budd- Walsh

Judith Budd-Walsh

*Michael Friedman
Nathan Garfinkel

Edward Kurpis
*Karen Miller

*Leonard Apicella
Tina Barkan
 Larry Lupow
Dennis Moller
Phyllis Manville
Douglas Mole
Colin Richardson

Kevin DeLargy
*Burt Klayman
Paul Sulkin

Don Winston

Ralph LaFemina

Paul Little

*Paul Little, Concertmaster
Darlene Abbate-Struss
Siri Bergheim
Diana Berthold
John A. Cardona
Barbara Ebin
Donna Geiger
Dorothy Grand

Alex Johnson
Barbara Livant
Margaret Malloy
Dawn Martin
*Rhoda Needlman
Denise Newman
Margot Rosenthal

Corey Sammartino-Guzzi

* Lisa Brieff
Florence Hengeveld
Roger Horn
Lora Kuykendall

Nancy Maia

Susan Barbash

Jennifer Flaum
Lou Gerber
* Richard Gotlib
James Ryan
Nancy Rusch
Monroe Semble

John Cotsonas
James White

* - denotes principal